Book Review #76: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

17453983

“I’m a little distracted by this English French American Boy Masterpiece.”

 Title: Anna and the French Kiss
Author: Stephanie Perkins
ISBN: 0307968537
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Chick Lit
Format: Audiobook
Date Published: October 11, 2011
Publishing House: Books on Tape
Goodreads Rating: 4.08
Personal Rating: 4/5

Synopsis

Can Anna find love in the City of Light?

Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her co-worker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year.

But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s waiting for? [Goodreads]

My Personal Thoughts

The very first time that I’ve read Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins was two years ago via digital copy and I wasn’t a book collector yet back then, I was just a plain book reader. I enjoyed this so much; it was cute and highly entertaining. Although the story is shallow, I still find myself immersed within Anna and Etienne’s up and down ride. This week, I decided to re-read this story through an audio book which approximately took me two days to finish while doing some coloring and stuff.

The setting is in a boarding school located in Paris. Who wouldn’t want to read a book that is set in one of the world’s most beautiful cities? When I read the synopsis before, I was already so eager to dive into their world because Paris is one of the places that I’ve been dreaming of going to and it’s even included on my bucket list. So, yes, the setting is definitely very appealing and romantic! It is undeniably perfect for the story line.

Let’s talk about the characters one by one and let me tell you something nice and annoying about them. Etienne St. Clair, he is the American/French boy who swept me off my feet two years ago. He is sweet and handsome. There is nothing to dislike about St. Clair except for the fact that he is afraid to be alone and to make big life decisions. It sucks right? You have all the beauty and everything but some of your principles in life are just off. Next is Anna Oliphant, the innocent girl from America who fell in love with her best friend. Anna is nice, an ideal girl to go out with but I find her pathetic and a certified boyfriend stealer! Sorry for the fans but Anna just annoyed the hell out of me when I read the book for the second time. I liked her so much before but then now I realized that she did things on purpose even though the boy is in a relationship. She did not actually resist his advances, she flirted with him as well. Oh gosh! I just hate girls and women like her. Anyway, they still made the perfect pair! It may be a cliché but the best friend to boyfriend thing is kind of cute but RISKY.

The story line is usual and there’s nothing special, to be honest. There is nothing in the story that I haven’t read from other young adult contemporary books before and it is not a good thing if you’ll ask me. I was expecting for something new and interesting but no, it was disappointing to realize that the story is plain, odd, and just simple. Nonetheless, I still enjoyed the story and I am not complaining.

Overall, it is highly recommended for young adult readers because it does not contain sensual scenes and it is full of innocence and pure fun, friendships, and first loves! New adult readers might find it boring though. Four out of five for giving me butterflies in the stomach because St. Clair is swoon-worthy, indeed.

~JaNnA

Leave a Reply

