Movie Review #5: The Sixth Sense (1999)

The_sixth_senseFilm Synopsis

Young Cole Sear (Haley Joel Osment) is haunted by a dark secret: he is visited by ghosts. Cole is frightened by visitations from those with unresolved problems who appear from the shadows. He is too afraid to tell anyone about his anguish, except child psychologist Dr. Malcolm Crowe (Bruce Willis). As Dr. Crowe tries to uncover the truth about Cole’s supernatural abilities, the consequences for client and therapist are a jolt that awakens them both to something unexplainable.

Watch the trailer H E R E.

DETAILS [Wikipedia]

Directed by M. Night Shyamalan

Produced by Frank Marshall, Kathleen Kennedy, Barry Mendel

Screenplay M. Night Shyamalan

Music by James Newton Howard

Cinematography by Tak Fujimoto

Edited by Andrew Mondshein

Production Company: Hollywood Pictures, Spyglass Entertainment, The Kennedy/Marshall Company

Distributed by Buena Vista Pictures

Release Date: August 6, 1999

Cast

Bruce Willis as Dr. Malcolm Crowe

Haley Joel Osment as Cole Sear

Toni Collette as Lynn Sear

Olivia Williams as Anna Crowe

My Personal Thoughts

Okay… Ugh… Should I still post a review if I’ve already watched this movie for several times? YAY! I just can’t get over the fact that I am uncontrollably addicted to psychological thriller stories! This is actually a horror slash suspense themed movie but I am far more interested in the fact that it sort of talked about a child’s psychological and emotional well-being. It is not a secret that I have always been fascinated with the human behaviour but after I’ve watched this movie for the nth time, I realised that I want an in-depth knowledge about paediatric mental health. Yes, I am a mother of two precious and smart kids, and I would really like to pursue a career in Mental Health Nursing which focuses on the mental state of children. The main character, Cole, is a troubled child who was often mistaken as schizophrenic or in layman’s term “freak”. I watched how the mother cried her heart out because she feels sorry for her son, the way her soul ached when other kids were bullying him, and the pain in her eyes while staring at him looking so weird and most of the time frightened. It was excruciating for a mother to watch your child suffer that way. Dr. Malcolm Crowe is an excellent child psychologist who was able to help Cole amidst all obstacles. This is a very brilliant and amazing film and I love how everything played on perfectly. The effects are all fantastic and impressive, there were moments that I screamed because of fear but not to the point that the story ends there. There was more to it than just gripping scenes and scary musical background. The love story between Dr. Crowe and his estranged wife is also something to look forward to and to think about, I was clueless all throughout and even for the 3rd time of watching the film, my pulse still went tachycardic. I know.. I know.. How silly of me to still be surprised and affected but that’s just how astonishing this movie is and nothing compares! It was more than one decade ago but the epicness is just unfathomable! The plot twist? Of course, that was what we all talked about right? Kudos to the writer and to the whole team. The Sixth Sense is the epitome of a classic and jaw-dropping movie of all time! It is highly recommended if you haven’t seen this movie yet. But seriously, if you’re still unaware of the existence of this film, what the hell is wrong with you? LOL.

Watch full movie on N E T F L I X.

~JaNnA

Leave a Reply

