Movie Review #4: The Silence of the Lambs (1991)

The_Silence_of_the_Lambs_poster

Film Synopsis

Jodie Foster stars as Clarice Starling, a top student at the FBI’s training academy. Jack Crawford (Scott Glenn) wants Clarice to interview Dr. Hannibal Lecter (Anthony Hopkins), a brilliant psychiatrist who is also a violent psychopath, serving life behind bars for various acts of murder and cannibalism. Crawford believes that Lecter may have insight into a case and that Starling, as an attractive young woman, may be just the bait to draw him out.

Watch the trailer H E R E

DETAILS [Wikipedia]

Directed by Jonathan Demme

Produced by Kenneth Utt, Edward Saxon, Ron Bozman

Screenplay by Ted Tally

Based on The Silence of the Lambs by Thomas Harris

Music by Howard Shore

Cinematography by Tak Fujimoto

Edited by Craig McKay

Production Company: Strong Heart/Demme Production

Distributed by Orion Pictures

Release Date: February 14, 1991

CAST

Jodie Foster as Clarice Starling

Anthony Hopkins as Dr. Hannibal Lecter

Scott Glenn as Jack Crawford

Ted Levine as “Buffalo Bill”

MY PERSONAL THOUGHTS

Okay, so I personally picked this movie during a random sleepover/pyjama party because of the reviews and high ratings on the internet (I love reading Rotten Tomatoes reviews). Dr. Hannibal Lecter is actually one of my favourite psychopath fictional characters of all time, aside from Norman Bates (of Psycho). I remember watching the TV series a couple of years ago. Moving on, this was aired 1991 so I did not really expect that much. Surprisingly, given the kind of technology that the world of entertainment has during that time, this movie still managed to give me goose bumps and left me in deep awe! I was also able to read one book about Dr. Lecter a few years ago, so I already have an idea as to how the story will evolve. I love and adore Jodie Foster and Anthony Hopkin’s acting! It was superb! Hannibal Lecter made me cringe all throughout the story! He portrayed the character in a dignified and perfect way. I am so impressed! Watching this movie made me realise that I really want to pursue a career in Mental Health Nursing, I have always been fascinated with the human brain and people’s behaviour. I love reading and watching psychological thriller books and movies, not because I am MAD, but because it is always amazing and entertaining to know how troubled people behave and what are the reasons behind their personality disorders. This is undeniably a classic movie that deserves all positive feedback and praises from viewers!  The plot twist and turn out of events are all good and gripping! The characters are all perfect and fit for their roles. I can say that the effects are still not that left behind compared to the ones that film producers have today. Given the fact that it was more than two decades ago, this movie still and will always deserve the hype and a standing ovation! I have no plans of watching the sequels because according to my research, they are “no match” compared to this and I want to leave it that way, plus the fact that Jodie Foster did not play the lead role of Clarice Starling in the succeeding films. Overall, I only have one rant, maybe the sensitive topic about homophobia, transphobia, and sexism, other than the above-mentioned stuff, this movie definitely NAILED it. IT WAS JUST TOO AWESOME and I LOVE EVERY PART OF IT.

Watch full movie on N E T F L I X

~JaNnA

Leave a Reply

