Movie Review #3: Baywatch (2017)

imagesFilm Synopsis

Matt Brody is a former Olympic swimmer who wants to join an elite team of lifeguards led by the hulking Mitch Buchannon. Brody thinks he’s a shoo-in, but his casual attitude starts to instantly rub Mitch the wrong way. When drugs and a shady resort owner pose a threat to the bay, Mitch and Matt must put their differences aside to spring into action and save the day. [Wikipedia]

Release date: 1 June 2017 (Australia)
Director: Seth Gordon
Box office: 137.9 million USD
Producers: Dwayne Johnson, Ivan Reitman, Beau Flynn, more
Production companies: Paramount Pictures, The Montecito Picture Company, Contra Film, Cold Spring Pictures 

Cast

Dwayne Johnson as Mitch Buchannon
Zac Efron as Matt Brody
Priyanka Chopra as Victoria Leeds
Alexandra Daddario as Summer Quinn
Kelly Rohrbach as C. J. Parker
Jon Bass as Ronnie

 

Watch the Trailer HERE ^_^

 

My Personal Thoughts

This movie is sexy, hilarious, and highly entertaining! There was never a dull moment! All throughout, I was laughing my ass out and I was constantly giggling. I even consumed all the popcorn halfway through the story. The characters are all perfect, Dwayne Johnson and Zac Efron undeniably nailed it! They are a perfect match for a fun-filled story. I was impressed with how the movie progresses, at first, I thought it would just be another piece of American Pie-ish movie which is just funny but nonsense. I was wrong! It all made sense and there’s a legit flow and major plot twists. My husband and I decided to watch this because aside from the fact that it’s Tuesday and there is a massive discount at Hoyts, I also happened to be a member so I get an additional discount for the movie of the week. All in all, we only scored our tickets for $11 aud/person and that is freaking awesome! It’s definitely one of the perks of being a premium member! Yay! I personally did not watch the Baywatch TV series aired in 1999 so I have no idea how the story goes. But it is about a group of people (about 6 of them to be exact) who watches over Emerald Bay and the people who are relaxing and having the time of their lives for a vacation. Some of them fell for each other, some are trying to win the heart of another crew, and some are just doing the best they can out of their chosen job. There were love interests present so I am expecting a sequel which most probably will include the appearance of some crew members of the original TV series. Pamela Anderson’s appearance here is quite short but I find it cool and appealing. Zac Efron is funny AF! OMG! I can’t believe that he can still act after High School Musical ( no offense for fans) but he exceeded my expectations and he is just so good at it. The producers obviously selected the best bombshells here, all three ladies are sexy and very bubbly. It is the perfect movie if you are looking for something to make you laugh, sit back, and enjoy. Lastly, the plot twist is common (honestly) but I loved and enjoyed every second of it nonetheless; it is definitely an action-packed movie with a dash of sexiness.

Overall, kudos to the whole team, and sequel please!

~JaNnA 💜

 

References:

http://www.youtube.com

http://www.wikipedia.com

Leave a Reply

