Book Review #71: Frostblood (Frostblood Saga #1) by Elly Blake (Advance Reader Copy from Hachette Australia)

31134210
Title: Frostblood
Author: Elly Blake
Pages: 320
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy
Format: Paperback
Date Published: January 12, 2017
Publishing House: Hodder and Stoughton
Goodreads Rating: 3.86
Personal Rating: 3/5
Synopsis

The frost king will burn.

Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a Fireblood who has concealed her powers of heat and flame from the cruel Frostblood ruling class her entire life. But when her mother is killed trying to protect her, and rebel Frostbloods demand her help to overthrow their bloodthirsty king, she agrees to come out of hiding, desperate to have her revenge.

Despite her unpredictable abilities, Ruby trains with the rebels and the infuriating—yet irresistible—Arcus, who seems to think of her as nothing more than a weapon. But before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to compete in the king’s tournaments that pit Fireblood prisoners against Frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her—and from the icy young man she has come to love.

My Personal Thoughts
Elly Blake’s first installment in the Frostblood series is gripping and a real page-turner. I liked the story and the characters, including the plot twists and everything about it, but I just have a few rants. First, while reading the story, I thought I am inside Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series because it is somewhat similar to having a King’s champion, and where the antagonist sort of fell in love-ish with the badass female protagonist. I dunno, I thought it was Celaena Sardothien or something. Young adult fantasy novels nowadays are all the same, and it’s not cool. There should be a distinction, a wow factor, a genuine thing where your novel will stand out and not be mistaken as a copycat. But I am not saying that this one is, it’s just that some similarities are present with other YA novels today. Second, things just turned out all in favour of Ruby and I find it annoying. Yes, during the first chapters she was belittled and tortured and what happened to her mother was horrible but as the story progresses you will notice that everything seems to be falling into place for her, love interest, allies, savior, it is so trying hard to please the readers which in return is not appealing for me. Third, that’s it? The ending is already a conclusion. You will not look forward to the next book because everything’s already there and the protagonist was defeated without blood and sweat. Oh come on, you can’t expect an evil king to just meet his end that easily. Anyway, despite all my rants I still enjoyed reading this fantasy novel and I was impressed with the idea of ice and fire together in a series. I like the first person narration (which is obviously my personal preference). The twist is surprising, I honestly did not see that one coming although some parts were really predictable like when the Mad King had a thing for Ruby or like when the snobbish Arcus finally gave in and admitted his feelings for Ruby. It’s just all the same and pretty common. But I like Ruby and Arcus’ pair, I ship them. Arcus is swoon-worthy despite his physical appearance, I like how badass his grand entrance was during the last match and when all the secrets were unraveled. Overall, I recommend this series for fantasy readers and I’m giving it a 3/5 rating.
Thank you, Hachette, for sending me a copy in exchange for an honest and unbiased review.

~JaNnA

Leave a Reply

