Book Review #59: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

18692431

“Life begins at the end of your comfort zone.”

Synopsis

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

(www.goodreads.com)

My Personal Thoughts

Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon has definitely taken me out of a reading slump! After finishing the Lunar Chronicles consecutively, I felt drained. Luckily I picked this one up from my e-reader library and finished it in 4 hours! It is so good, refreshing, and lovely! I just like it when people fall in love for the very first time. How someone can be so stubborn and defy everyone for that one person. How butterflies in the stomach make a person do stupid but worthy things. I envy those young people who get to experience their very first kiss. It brings back the good old days when I was in that same scenario and it feels so damn good! This young adult stand-alone novel by the author surprisingly caught my undivided attention. I wasn’t really planning to finish it in one sitting but the main character’s condition is so rare that I became so curious as to how are they gonna make it. Nicola Yoon’s The Sun is Also a Star also knocked me off my feet! She writes simply but with sense and purpose. I love how she always see to it that the message that she wants to convey will be clear to the readers. I love her writing style, the endings are always simple and the reader should be the one to conclude and put the pieces together. Bravo! Well written and created! It is recommended for readers of all ages, no restrictions. It is wholesome. It is screaming pureness, innocence, and one great love. I can only imagine how other readers felt after diving into Mady and Olly’stopsy-turvyy story. The plot twist is excruciatingly painful and I was shocked when I found out about it. Sometimes the people we care about the most wants to protect us in a manner that is selfish and unreasonable but it doesn’t mean that they don’t love us. They love do, so much that oftentimes they cross the line. This story made me think about relationships and the happiness that a first love brings a person.

Five amazing stars for an undeniablyamazing story.

~JaNnA💖

Leave a Reply

