Book Review #54: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo


Title: Six of Crows

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Format: Hardcover

Pages: 465

ISBN13: 9781627792127

Date of Publication: September 29, 2015

Publishing House: Henry Holt & Co

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia, Fantasy

Goodreads Rating: 4.45

Personal Rating: 4

Synopsis

Criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker has been offered wealth beyond his wildest dreams. But to claim it, he’ll have to pull off a seemingly impossible heist:

Break into the notorious Ice Court(a military stronghold that has never been breached)

Retrieve a hostage(who could unleash magical havoc on the world)

Survive long enough to collect his reward (and spend it)

Kaz needs a crew desperate enough to take on this suicide mission and dangerous enough to get the job done – and he knows exactly who: six of the deadliest outcasts the city has to offer. Together, they just might be unstoppable – if they don’t kill each other first.

My Personal Thoughts

The Six of Crows is the first book of the duology written by Leigh Bardugo. What can I say? Hmmm…πŸ€” I am in deep awe right now!😱 I was already aware that this will be brilliant and astonishing even from the start because I’ve heard great reviews about the story, and my bookish friends provided with some wonderful and postive feedback.

The setting is very promising but it wasn’t emphasised that much. The main focus of the story was about the characters and the plot; and the setting was left behind. I’ve craved and asked for more. Nonetheless, I still enjoyed my reading escapade.

The six characters were all amazing, badass, and easy to like! My favorite among them is Kaz, he is so strong and determined! I admired how the author wired and created him. He’s rude and arrogant but I still found myself being attracted with his evil-ish personality. I even liked the way he suppressed his feelings for his one true love. My one true pair is Matthias and Nina, I have no idea why I always end up shipping those who are impossible to be together. Hahahaha!πŸ˜‚ Whatever!😏 I’d still ship them even in the next and last book!πŸ‘πŸΌ The love/hate relationship is entertaining for me and I find it cute and annoying at the same time.πŸ˜…

It would be more convenient if it was narrated in the first person point of view so that the readers can relate more with the characters. The story is fast paced. I wasn’t able to finish it right away because of UNI and work but if only I have all the time in the world I can finish it in a day or two. It contained a lot of action packed scenes which are perfect for book to movie adaptations. I got really tired because my imagination kept on visualising all the scenarios! It was a rollercoaster ride! I just love how Leigh Bardugo executed all the scenes perfectly! The revelations and twists were all mind-boggling Β and surprising! I thought that was all but the last chapter still had me mind-fucked! OMG! You are indeed full of surprises my dear author! I cant wait for the next book! I want all the time in the world, please! haha!πŸ˜…
I highly recommend it for readers who enjoy fantasy themed novels which are full of action scenes. It kind of contains some violent scenes. I suggest that the young readers should be responsible and careful. Overall, it was a great reading experience and it deserves a ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5 rating.

~JaNnAπŸ’œ

Leave a Reply

