Book Review #48: The Kiss of Deception (The Remnant Chronicles #1) by Mary E. Pearson

16665580_969155543215837_2957537750122621496_o
Title: The Kiss of Deception
Author: Mary E. Pearson
Pages: 489
Genre: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult
Format: Hardcover
Date of Publication: July 08, 2014
ISBN: 0805099239 (ISBN13: 9780805099232)
Publishing House: Henry Holt & Co.
Goodreads Rating: 4.07
My Personal Rating: 5 out of 5
Synopsis
A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love. (www.goodreads.com)

My Personal Thoughts
Whoa! The reason why I bought this book is because I’ve heard really great and intriguing reviews about it. It was also personally recommended by a bookish friend and I always trust her preferences when it comes to fantasy themed stories. Surprisingly, this book left me breathless and pulseless! Haha! Kidding aside, I adored each and every part of it.
The Kiss of Deception is the first installment of The Remnant Chronicles by Mary E. Pearson. The synopsis may sound cliche’ because the princess is a runaway bride. I know, right! But don’t get me wrong, it is so good and entertaining! I even liked the author’s writing style and the way she narrated the story. I got really confused but in a positive way. I was impressed with the way that she was bale to deceive me! I was mind-fucked when I found out what she did with the characters! I got it all so mixed up. The assassin and the prince, wow! I did not see that one coming. I was thinking of the other way around and I was dumbfounded! Anyway, the setting is great and appropriate with the story as well! I enjoyed how the author built the world in an intricate manner. I was able to imagine everything perfectly. The world building is so astonishing! The characters were perfectly justified. The alternating point of view is my favourite part, it has always been my preferred narration because like what I always say in my reviews, I am able to dig deeper into the characters’ perspectives. Let us not forget the gorgeousness of the cover, awwww! Hardback-worthy. ^_^
I highly recommend this novel and I’m so excited to buy the 2nd and 3rd book. The ending is a cliff-hanger, though. And I just hate it so much! hahahaha! The author probably wants to torture me, ugh. By the way, my succeeding book reviews from now on will all be just brief but meaningful because UNI is taking up too much of my time and energy. But I promise to still be active on Instagram and promote books that are being sent by Hachette, Allen and Unwin, and Bloomsbury. 🙂
~JaNnA~
Leave a Reply

