Book Review #44: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

15817861_943126385818753_1014603254_o

Title: The Hating Game
Author: Sally Thorne
Pages: 384
Genre: New Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Format: Ebook
Date of Publication: August 09, 2016
Publishing House: William Morrow
Goodreads Rating: 4.28
My Personal Rating: 4 out of 5

SYNOPSIS

Nemesis (n.)
1) An opponent or rival whom a person cannot best or overcome;
2) A person’s undoing;
3) Joshua Templeman.

Lucy Hutton and Joshua Templeman hate each other. Not dislike. Not begrudgingly tolerate. Hate. And they have no problem displaying their feelings through a series of ritualistic passive aggressive maneuvers as they sit across from each other, executive assistants to co-CEOs of a publishing company. Lucy can’t understand Joshua’s joyless, uptight, meticulous approach to his job. Joshua is clearly baffled by Lucy’s overly bright clothes, quirkiness, and Pollyanna attitude.

Now up for the same promotion, their battle of wills has come to a head and Lucy refuses to back down when their latest game could cost her her dream job…But the tension between Lucy and Joshua has also reached its boiling point, and Lucy is discovering that maybe she doesn’t hate Joshua. And maybe, he doesn’t hate her either. Or maybe this is just another game. (www.goodreads.com)

My Thoughts

Sally Thorne’s debut novel is bold, daring, funny, and highly entertaining. I rarely read new adult contemporary novels because I find them cliche’ and full of sensual-ish scenes but the author made an exception. The main characters are both easy to like and love. Lucy is an alpha female with a very strong personality. She is outspoken and opinionated. She is determined and goal oriented. Lucy is beautiful inside and out; and everyone likes her, except for one. Joshua on the other hand is the handsome and smart officemate and the rival of Lucy in so many ways. He is a total jerk and that’s what I really like about him. LOL! He is straight forward and snobbish, but the man undeniably knows how to melt a heart and give someone butterflies in the stomach. Joshua Templeman is a real catch! The characters fight every freaking day. Even the HR head can’t seem to fix the tension between the two. All throughout the story, I laughed and cringed simultaneously. I missed having the feeling of swooning over a male character and it feels so damn good. I enjoyed their rollercoaster ride, the bragging, the insults, the death stares, and most especially the falling head over heels with each other. The first 4 chapters are actually irritating; the characters were silly and immature then. I almost gave up because they are so annoying. But as the story goes, I find myself devouring on their secret obsession with each other. I must admit that for a debut novel, Miss Thorne definitely made an impression. It is fast paced and I managed to finish it in two consecutive days. The writing style is great, I was hooked and I definitely want more! It does not have a cliff hanger ending but I am hoping and craving that there could be more (like a second installment or something!). I really love how Josh and Lucy made my reading experience enjoyable. Some lessons that I learned from this piece of art are: 1) No matter how much you deny and suppress your feelings for someone, eventually, it will just all spill out and you can’t do anything to contain or keep it; 2) if you like someone say it before it becomes too late; and lastly, 3) sometimes we have to sacrifice our own goals just to let the person we love be happy. Who knows? Maybe it will all be worth it in the end. I highly recommend this book to people who are looking for a sweet and cute story that will make you swoon and fall in love all over again. I’ll give it a 4/5 because it made me realise that love can really move mountains and make the impossible possible. ♡ ~JaNnA~

Leave a Reply

