Book Review #40 : Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

14518817_882117938586265_2134086927_n

Title: Stealing Snow
Author: Danielle Paige
Series: Stealing Snow, #1
Pages: 384
Format: Paperback (Uncorrected Proof)
ISBN13: 9781681190761
Genre: Fantasy, Retelling, Young Adult
Date of Publication: October 3, 2016
Publishing House: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Date Read: September 27, 2016
Personal Rating: 4 out of 5

“Within you lies a great gift. You can control winter and have dominance over frost, over ice and snow.”

Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige is a retelling of the famous fairytale, The Snow Queen, written by Hans Christian Andersen in 1844. This story is about the continuous battle of good and evil. I think both stories resembled just on specific parts: the mirror, Kay (the character’s name here is Kai), Gerda, and the power of the snow queen. But mostly, they are totally different. I received my copy from Bloomsbury Australia in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. This will come out this October 3 so watch out for it and don’t forget to include it on your TBR list.

Synopsis

“First kisses sometimes wake slumbering princesses, undo spells, and spark happily ever afters.”

Mine broke Bale.

Seventeen-year-old Snow has spent her life locked in Whittaker Psychiatric—but she isn’t crazy. And that’s not the worst of it. Her very first kiss proves anything but innocent…when Bale, her only love, turns violent.

Despite Snow knowing that Bale would never truly hurt her, he is taken away—dashing her last hope for any sort of future in the mental ward she calls home. With nowhere else to turn, Snow finds herself drawn to a strange new orderly who whispers secrets in the night about a mysterious past and a kingdom that’s hers for the taking—if only she can find her way past the iron gates to the Tree that has been haunting her dreams.

Beyond the Tree lies Algid, a land far away from the real world, frozen by a ruthless king. And there too await the River Witch, a village boy named Kai, the charming thief Jagger, and a prophecy that Snow will save them all.

(Credit to http://www.goodreads.com)

My Personal Thoughts

First, I really got confused with the places. The story started in a contemporary setting which is pretty fine with me. The first part mostly took place in a mental asylum where Snow was admitted for almost a decade because of an incident that almost took her childhood friend’s life. After being comfortable with this setup, I was suddenly brought into a different world which is called Algid. And I don’t freaking know where exactly it is. Is it under the sea? Or is it deep within the forest? Or maybe it is somewhere over the rainbow? All I know is that Snow saw it in the mirror behind THE TREE. While being at Algid for a couple of days, Snow was suddenly in another place which drove me crazy, and with another group of people! How the hell did that happen? Like seriously? Ugh! I was confused as fvck because the places are just too much to take in. Hahaha! You cannot just take the character from one place to another without a proper transition. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the story; it’s just that I was really left puzzled on certain scenarios.

Snow. Ugh! Snow is a teenage girl with a loyalty problem. LOL. I don’t like the idea that she falls for every boy that she meets. There are three potential book boyfriends in the story, and I don’t know who exactly the author is shipping. Just when I was about to believe that this particular boy is swoon-worthy, another boy will appear in the picture, and Snow will instantly fall head over heels with him. Crap! So much about it, her character is okay. She is strong, obviously, but she doesn’t know how to use her powers properly. It’s just stupid to go on a suicide rescue mission. Despite knowing all the secrets about your real identity, your main agenda is still to save your dream boy and go back to the mental institution where you both belonged. That’s crazy. Her cluelessness also bothered me. I hope the next book will be better for Snow. I hope that she will have a transformation from a flirtatious slash clueless being into a stronger and wiser one. That last chapter is very promising, though. I will not talk about any male character because there are three of them. If I describe their relationship to Snow, it will basically blow up your reading experience.

The writing style is good. I enjoyed my reading time. It is slow-paced during the first half of the book then it became fast abruptly (too fast) during the last chapters. It is pretty gripping, I noticed that I continuously read it for three or four days and I found myself being curious and hooked with the story. I really do love fairy tale retellings so I think I might be a little bias here. Hahaha! The only thing that I adore about this story is how the author introduced a lot of mind-blowing twists! I just can’t handle all of them! I am not sure if for some readers those turn out of events are very predictable. For me, it’s so good! It is great, I mean. My heart can only handle one or two heart breaks but I admire Snow because she was able to withstand all those freaking revelations! Those are just too excruciating to bear. The first person narration is a plus point, I enjoyed it. I just hoped that there was an alternating point of view so that I will be able to see the other character’s perspective. The chosen words are fine, not too deep in the sense that you will need to check the dictionary often. Brace yourselves, rant coming! I don’t know why it seems like there is a flight of ideas. The author wants to show a lot of things which made it confusing. The story often jumps from one idea to another. New characters are constantly being introduced. It kind of lacked cohesiveness. Sorry but it is just my opinion. Despite this rant, I still like it and will definitely recommend it to my fellow readers. It is highly entertaining and the sprinkle of psychological mystery, in the beginning, is very appealing to me.

I have made a lot of realizations in this novel. First, it is very depressing when someone you love and trust wholeheartedly betrays you. I salute the character for overcoming that part of her life. No matter what happens, you still need to stand up and move forward after those upsetting incidents. Second, secrets will always ruin a relationship. I think people should just be honest so that things will not be that complicated. Lastly, this is from my favorite movie of all the time (The Fast and the Furious), you don’t turn your back to the family, even if they do. And that’s just how it is. Always.

Here are some of my favorite lines:

“How was it possible that not being normal saved me?”

“Destiny wasn’t exciting or romantic or epic. It was annoying.”

“We don’t always get what we want in this life. But we can control how we get there.”

“We breathe out the lies; we stutter the truth.”

“The more you see of evil, the more evil seems limitless.”

YEY! I hope I made some sense here on whether you should or should not read this. I honestly loved how it ended. I’m sure you will like it too.

~Janna

Leave a Reply

