Book Review #39: The Vincent Boys by Abbi Glines

14458973_881618715302854_1095237172_n
Title: The Vincent Boys
Author: Abbi Glines
Series: The Vincent Boys, #1
Pages: 320
Format: Paperback
ISBN13: 9781442485259
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Date of Publication: October 30, 2012
Publishing House: Simon Pulse
Date Read: September 14, 2016
Goodreads Average Rating: 3.99
Personal Rating: 3 out of 5
“You choose one and let the other go.” –Abbi Glines
The Vincent Boys is my very first Abbi Glines’ book read. Honestly, new adult contemporary romance is really not my cup of tea, and only Colleen Hoover captured my heart when it comes to this genre. This story is very plain and simple. I actually find it cliché, but I surprisingly found myself being interested in Beau, Sawyer and Ashton’s story. This is the first book of The Vincent Boys series. It is pretty appealing especially if you are a new reader who seeks thrill and butterflies in the stomach-ish feeling. But in my case, I did not find this book extra special. Although overall, I will still recommend this to readers who are into this kind of stories where love triangles and cheaters exist.
Synopsis
Ashton is getting tired of being good, of impressing her parents and playing ideal girlfriend to Sawyer Vincent. Sawyer is perfect, a regular Prince Charming, but when he leaves town for the summer, it’s his cousin Beau who catches Ashton’s eye. Beau is the sexiest guy she’s ever seen, and even though he’s dangerous, Ashton is drawn to him.
Beau loves his cousin like a brother, so the last thing he wants to do is make a move on Sawyer’s girl. Ashton is off-limits, absolutely. That’s why he does his best to keep his distance, even though he’s been in love with her forever. When Ashton wants to rekindle their childhood friendship in Sawyer’s absence, Beau knows he should say no.
Ashton and Beau don’t want to hurt Sawyer. But the more they try to stay away from each other, the more intense their urges become. It’s getting way too hard to resist…
(Credit to http://www.goodreads.com)
Setting
It was set in Grove, Alabama where the three main characters grew up, became friends and eventually fell in love The setting is not bad considering that this is a contemporary novel. They all live in a decent neighborhood where people are church-goers and everyone seems to be too good to be true. The prominent family, the pastor’s daughter, the bad boy; this is the perfect combination.
Characters
Ashton is the good-girl-gone-bad. I have nothing against her character but I kind of hate her, seriously. Like with everything that you have, you still had the nerve to play with other people’s feelings? Considering the fact that she is the pastor’s daughter, she still gave in to temptation. Perfect life, perfect boyfriend, what more can she actually ask for? She did not even have the decency to end everything first with Sawyer before flirting with Beau. Gosh, I despise her character so much!
Beau is the bad boy! I have always been fascinated with the badass characters! They are my weakness since I started reading fiction books. It was very easy for me to like and love Beau right from the very first page. He is troubled and indeed a beautiful disaster but he knows who he wants and is very much willing to fight for that person. The character is very promising; I hope that he will have a major transformation from being a bad guy to a good one in the second book.
Sawyer is the perfect boyfriend; rich, intelligent and gentleman. He is very reserved and loyal. He loves Ashton so much but the only problem is that Ash finds him boring and a perfectionist. I like his character as well, because unlike previous characters that I have encountered, Sawyer is very forgiving.
Writing Style and Plot
The story is fast-paced. I finished it in two days and I literally did not put it down because I am always looking forward to Beau’s scenes. The story is very common, people who are bound by secrets then finding out in the end that everything about their personality is a lie. I am so used to this kind of stories and nothing surprises me anymore. It is just sad because I was expecting a lot. I was kind of disappointed because I thought this will be something new. I guess expecting too much is just not advisable. Overall, it is still good to add to your TBR list, if you are looking for a fast read story with a decent plot, this one will do. And by the way, those twists and turn out of events are not really mind-blowing at all. They are very predictable. I need to stop typing because it is too obvious that I am not that happy. Haha!
Conclusion
I just realized that despite having tons of rant about the story, I still learned a lot. First, blood is not always thicker than water. Sadly, Beau just proved me that when you are really into someone, you can betray anyone, even if they are close to you or related to you. Second, like Ashton, you have to be true to yourself. Do not pretend to be someone you are not. It will be a series of lies and pretensions if you will not show the world who you really are. Suppressing your feelings is not an option. Lastly, no matter what, your family will always be your number one supporter and they will always be there for you.
Favourite Lines
• Trouble can be a lot of fun. It’s the straight and narrow that makes life tedious and boring.
• He was definitely more than a little excitement. He was lethal.
• The right thing to do would be to say no, But I always did the right thing. Always. Just this once I wanted to do what I wanted to do. I let the bad girl out just a little.
• This was what I needed. This connection. A raw, needy, honest attraction. Not something controlled and careful. I need reckless.
• Bad company corrupts good manner.
~Janna
Leave a Reply

