Book Review #37: Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1) by Marissa Meyer

14365234_875852075879518_1405698739_n
Title: Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1)
Author: Marissa Meyer
Series: The Lunar Chronicles
Pages: 400
Format: Paperback
ISBN13: 9780312641894
Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Retelling, Romance
Date of Publication: January 3, 2012
Publishing House: Feiwel & Friends
Date Read: September 12, 2016
Goodreads Rating: 4.14
Personal Rating: 4 out of 5
“They were beautiful. The most beautiful things she’d ever owned. But if there was one thing she knew from years as a mechanic, it was that some stains never came out.” 
Synopsis
Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

(Credit to www.goodreads.com)
My Personal Thoughts
INTRODUCTION. Cinder is the first book of The Lunar Chronicles by author Marissa Meyer. It is a retelling of the famous fairy tale story, Cinderella. You might be skeptical at first glance, but you have to believe me when I say that it contains plenty of twists and it will definitely exceed your expectations.  Honestly, when I first read the synopsis, I am hesitant to start this series as well. I left the physical copies of my books in the Philippines and they are literally sitting on my shelf for almost over a year now until I finally gave in. I decided to dive inside Cinder’s science fiction-ish slash fairytale-ish world. To my surprise, I actually liked it. No, I loved it!
SETTING. The setting is vaguely described. I did not get a hang of it because it wasn’t described thoroughly. All I’m aware of is that it took place in the human world (Commonwealth – New Beijing), away from the evil lunar Queen Levana’s kingdom. The emperor rules the Commonwealth with the help of his son, Prince Kai. Cinder, on the other hand, resides in a decent place together with her wicked stepmother and two step sisters (one is a pain in the neck while the other is pretty nice). Cinder works her ass out in her shop by being a mechanic. Everything about the scenarios is fine but I didn’t find them too appealing because I value settings so badly.
CHARACTERS. Next, let’s talk about the characters. Cinder is a young adult cyborg who finds it easy to repair malfunctioning things. She is free-spirited and enjoys being alone in her shop. She is actually the breadwinner of the family, given the fact that her adoptive father already passed away. Since then, her stepmother, Adri, became cruel to her and despises her existence. I admire her character here in the story because unlike the cliché’ trait of Cinderella, Cinder over here is a girl who will put up a fight when needed and defend herself. I hate characters who are easily intimidated by the antagonist. She’s impressive! Moving on to the next one is Prince Kai. At a very young age, he is already forced to do something that he knows nothing about. He liked Cinder right from their very first meeting. I know it may sound cheesy and common but I kind of had those butterflies in my stomach when they first met, haha! I honestly find the pair cute and lovely! But the prince, on the other hand, has a weak personality. Sorry if you’re an avid fan of this series but it’s a major turn-off. He lacked all the traits that are worthy of his title. At times, I find him boring and odd, but nevertheless, I am still fascinated with their easy-to-love tandem. I couldn’t let this review pass without commending the strong character of Queen Levana! OH MY! I just love her evil personality! She is a very effective protagonist and it’s really impressive because she is a freaking awesome bitch!
WRITING STYLE AND PLOT. This is my first Marissa Meyer book and I must admit that I am not disappointed. I expected a lot because of the hype. I joined the bandwagon because everyone’s been screaming it’s awesomeness over and over on Instagram. I did had a spectacular reading experience and enjoyed every part of it! The story is gripping and highly addictive. I love the idea that I am not able to put the book down because of the constant journey of unraveling the truth behind all the lies and secrets. Although, I expected all the twists and turn out of events. I already saw them coming, it’s very predictable, but instead of being disappointed I find myself being drowned into their world. When I read the first chapter, I already knew what’s in store for me. I guess I just miss being a kid and hearing about fairy tales and happy-ever-afters. This is a major cliff hanger, and darn, I hate it! BUT, I highly recommend it to readers of all ages. I’m pretty sure you’ll be hooked as well! I couldn’t wait to read the next books.
CONCLUSION. I had three major realizations after the book. First, anyone can betray us. We should never put our 100% trust! Second, if two people really like each other, their social status will not be an issue. I know, it may sound corny but it happens. And it happens a lot. Lastly, some people will come into our life and make us realize that not all people are bad after all. Strangers can sometimes be people who are sent to help and guide us. That’s it! I hope that I am able to help you decide if you’ll read it or not.
FAVORITE QUOTES
“Even in the future, the story begins with ONCE UPON A TIME.”
“Vanity is a factor, but it is more a question of control. It is easier to trick others into perceiving you as beautiful if you can convince yourself you are beautiful. But mirrors have an uncanny way of telling the truth.”
“Soon, the whole world would be searching for her- Linh Cinder. A deformed cyborg with a missing foot. A lunar with a stolen identity. A mechanic with no one to run to, nowhere to go. But they will be looking for a ghost.”
“Imagine there was a cure, but finding it would cost you everything. It would completely ruin your life. What would you do?”
“We all have our weaknesses. Mine is shoes.”
~Janna
Leave a Reply

