Book Review #35 : A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

13924925_857304284400964_2465602630382708954_n
Title: A Court of Mist and Fury
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #2
Pages: 640
Format: Paperback
ASIN: B015FELXQ0
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance
Date of Publication: May 3, 2016
Publishing House: Bloomsbury USA
Date Read: September 5, 2016
Goodreads Rating: 4.75
Personal Rating: 5 out of 5
My mate. Death incarnate. Night triumphant. ” –Sarah J. Maas
INTRODUCTION
Young adult fantasy books have always been my fascination, especially if the female protagonist is alluring and knows how to literally kick some ass. A Court of Mist and Fury is the second instalment of the A Court of Thorns and Roses series. You can check out my thoughts regarding the first book (here). I read it last year and I can still remember how it made me feel. If you have been following my blog posts here and on Instagram (@BibliophileMom) then I’m pretty sure that you are already aware of the fact that I adore this author so much! Her Throne of Glass series is also one of the most awesome series ever written and I’m not saying this because I’m an avid fan but because it’s the truth. I always recommend her books to people who are seeking my advice regarding their next read, and I don’t disappoint them, indeed. This story is undeniably surprising and full of “WTF’s!” and “OMG’s!”. I am already accustomed with her writing style and yet she still left me breathless in the end. I don’t know how she does it, but I am always so impressed with all her masterpiece.
SUMMARY
Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people. Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be the key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two. (Credit to http://www.goodreads.com)
“MY PERSONAL THOUGHTS”
SETTING
During the first few chapters, every scenario took place at the Spring Court, where Tamlin is the respected high lord (ruler in layman’s term). Everybody was busy preparing for Tamlin and Feyre’s wedding. Most of the time, gatherings and conferences transpired. The bride-to-be usually gets bored because she is not comfortable with elegance and royalty. On the other hand, the succeeding chapters were set at the Night Court (the most feared court in Prythian) where the notorious and famous Amarantha’s whore, Rhysand, rules. I can say that all the places were glamorous, enchanting and classy. They travelled in different courts and explored the different parts of Prythian. I find it gripping because every place has its own ruler with different preferences and reigning style. The author made me use my creativity to the fullest by imagining and picturing how a specific place looks like. She is always fond of utilizing a reader’s imagination, that’s why I am so fond of her stories.
CHARACTERS
Feyre – She is a mortal-turned-fae (immortal). Yes, it’s kind of complicated, I know! I am so engrossed with her character since day one, because she is beautiful, witty and fierce. She is always determined to accomplish a certain goal. She is firm and dignified, and will not allow someone to manipulate her shit. I love how she managed to stand on her own and turned her back to that person who meant the whole world to her. Tamlin and Feyre complement each other so much and I have always been shipping the pair for like forever. There is consistency in her character, from being a badass mortal to an even more badass immortal. She is just so adorable and easy to love; I promise you won’t get bored with her. Honestly, some female protagonists are just so annoying, so instead of being hooked, a reader has no choice but get detached with the story.
Tamlin – I was a TAMLIN-I-WILL-GIVE-MY-HEART-AND-SOUL-TO-YOU kind of fan in the first book! Seriously! But what did just happen? I mean like wwwwhhhhhyyy?! I wasn’t prepared for that! He is strong, handsome and has everything that a female character wants but I never expected all those turn out of events with him. I know, I’m infatuated with consistency but the major changes in him made my jaw drop! I liked him so much in the first instalment, but I was saddened by the fact that he wasn’t that exposed here in ACoMaF. You really can never have it all, just in one snap, everything changed! And I freaking adore you for that, SJM! He was perfect for Feyre, WAS. I have nothing more to say because I just came across Tamlin during the first couple of chapters and on the last ones. He went missing the whole time! Ugh! It makes me sick!
Rhysand – Hmm… With all honesty and sincerity, this stubborn and smartass character surprised the hell out of me! I was shocked! Who would have thought that sometimes, the villains are not who they appear to be!? Aaron Warner of the Shatter Me series by Tahereh Mafi is somewhat similar to Rhysand’s character, and I so loved it! I should be disappointed here and crying my heart out but I just CAN’T! Previously, Rhys was just somebody BUT here, he proved himself as fangirling-worthy and swoon-worthy! I am so proud of his character, because of the major transformation. So, yeah, FEYSAND for the WIN! Woohooo!
PLOT AND WRITING STYLE
I honestly don’t know what to write in this part. I have too many things running inside my mind right now. Obviously, I liked it that much and I can’t put on the right words to explain how it made me feel. My reading experience was spectacular; I was brought somewhere where I was able to look inside Feyre’s mind and understood why she came up with those decisions in the first place. The writing style is as awesome as always, not too descriptive and detailed in a way that everything was spoon-fed. That’s the loveliest thing about SJM, you still have to do some work to appreciate the story. She will play with your emotions by torturing you with an almost-happy-ever-after and then in the end, there will be a change of plan, OH NO! I just can’t! The pacing is fast, it has 640 pages and yet I was able to finish it right away. Every action scene made me cringed and cream. Once I started to read it, I never put the book down, literally. All the twists and turn out of events made me want to read the next book as soon as possible! Waiting for it to be released next year will probably be one hell of a suffering. If you’ll ask me for a flaw, probably it’s about Tamlin’s character; I was disappointed because all throughout the story, he was missing-in-action, like seriously? With the love of your life being taken away from you, you’ll just sit there and still try to continue ruling your court? It was a disgrace! It’s not possible, I think SJM became bias in a way, or maybe I was just expecting him to show up and fight for her. Anyway, overall, the story is highly recommended for readers of all ages and genre. It deserves all the hype and the outpouring of five star ratings that I have seen everywhere really proves how exquisitely written this novel was.
FAVORITE LINES
  • “He thinks he’ll be remembered as the villain in the story. But I forgot to tell him that the villain is usually the person who locks up the maiden and throws away the key. He was the one who let me out.”
  • “When you spend so long trapped in darkness, you find that the darkness begins to stare back.”
  • “There are different kinds of darkness; there is the darkness that frightens, the darkness that soothes, the darkness that is restful. There is the darkness of lovers, and the darkness of assassins. It becomes what the bearer wishes it to be, needs it to be. It is not wholly bad or good.”
  • “And I realized—I realized how badly I’d been treated before, if my standards had become so low. If the freedom I’d been granted felt like a privilege and not an inherent right.”
  • “She is my mate. And my spy. And she is the High Lady of the Night Court.”
CONCLUSION AND REALIZATIONS 
This book definitely contains a lot of moral lessons! First, no matter how much you think you own someone there will always be that possibility that the person might slip away. We just have to learn how to love the person without being too manipulative and controlling.  Second, having a bad reputation doesn’t necessarily make someone a bad person. There is more to that person than just what other people say. We should never be judgmental or bias in any way, besides, every person has his or her own everyday battle anyway. Lastly, a family doesn’t necessarily mean that you should be related by blood; family can sometimes be the people who come around and stick by your side no matter what the odds are. Value and cherish those people, because LOYALTY doesn’t come in cheap ways nowadays.
~JaNnA~
Instagram: @BibliophileMom
Twitter: @BibliophileMom_
Email: thebibliophilemom@gmail.com

 

Leave a Reply

