Book Review #31 : Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2) by Suzanne Collins

 received_815922005205859
SERIES: The Hunger Games
AUTHOR: Suzanne Collins
PAGES: 391
FORMAT: Paperback
PUBLICATION DATE: September 1, 2009
ISBN13: 9780439023498
GENRE: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia
DATE READ: May 15, 2016
GOODREADS RATING: 4.30
PERSONAL RATING: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️.5/5

“But deciding not to run away is a crucial first step…”

📚 Synopsis 📚

Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. After all, she has returned to her family and her longtime friend, Gale. Yet nothing is the way Katniss wishes it to be. Gale holds her at an icy distance. Peeta has turned his back on her completely. And there are whispers of a rebellion against the Capitol – a rebellion that Katniss and Peeta may have helped create.

Much to her shock, Katniss has fueled an unrest she’s afraid she cannot stop. And what scares her even more is that she’s not entirely convinced she should try. As time draws near for Katniss and Peeta to visit the districts on the Capitol’s cruel Victory Tour, the stakes are higher than ever. If they can’t prove, without a shadow of a doubt, that they are lost in their love for each other, the consequences will be horrifying.

©Goodreads

📖 M Y T H O U G H T S 📖

📚 Setting 📚

The setting is astonishing like the first book (book review of The Hunger Games here)! The arena once again made me cringe over and over! This time, it contains a lot of surprises which is absent in The Hunger Games. I am very much pleased with the second installment because all my rants regarding the previous book finally vanished! The Capitol is always a symbol of royalty and class, and it is even more fabulous and luxurious this time. A lot of improvements are made and I am a very satisfied reader here! Showing how gruesome the situation among all the district in Panem is just so creative and brilliant! And the author’s ability to execute all the scenarios with justice is very commendable!

📚 Characters 📚

Katniss Everdeen never ceases to amaze me! Her feistiness is spontaneous! She is always the savior of her loved ones. She is the perfect symbol of rebellion, as mentioned in the book. Courage, bravery and ability all in one! I love how almost everyone saw her as the beacon of hope and future! She served as an inspiration among all the people. Her existence made them realize that all together they can make a difference. One thing I loathe her for is the unreciprocated love of Peetah. I don’t know if she is just in denial or stupid but Peetah is always there beside her unlike Gale. I have been and will always ship for Peeta and Katniss!

Peeta Mellark surprised me this time! In the first book, you will notice that I have tons of rant regarding his existence. Yes he is swoon-worthy that time but he lacks the personality to be worthy of Katniss’s love. But not this time! Peeta did everything he can to show Katniss what he truly feels. I loved him on the first book and I even loved him more on the 2nd one. He is the epitome of pure and selfless love. The one wherein you respect the other person’s feelings and just be happy for them even if they don’t feel the same way for you. I fell for him all over again.❤️

📚 Writing Style and Plot 📚

I am fascinated as always! Miss Collins once again took me somewhere that is full of action-packed scenes and jaw-dropping turn out of events! Her writing style is one of a kind! You will never put the book down, literally. She caught my full and undivided attention! The story is fast-paced and it’s obvious to the fact that I finished it in less than 24 hours. I like the first person narration, I was able to put on Katniss’s shoes and understand all her decisions. It wasn’t easy being her. You have to make a stand. You have to trust your guts. But the cliff-hanger though! How could you do this to me dear author? I rolled my eyes and smirked for a couple of times after reading that last line from Gale. Yes. It’s killing me! I need to start reading the 3rd book now in order for me to have the freaking closure. The twists! All of them are mind-blowing! I almost died after all those freaking revelations from Haymitch. Wow! I was caught off-guard! This is definitely one of my best reads this year.

📚 Overall Rating 📚

I am giving it a 4.5/5. I highly recommend this to readers of all ages. I know almost all of you out there have already enjoyed this trilogy a long time ago. I am a late bloomer, I know. Lol. This book is very addictive and you will keep on asking and wanting for more. It definitely deserves all the hype!

📚 Conclusion 📚

Things I learned from the story:

1. No man is an island. No matter how much Katniss refuses to build a relationship or alliance with the other tributes, she can’t escape the fact that sometimes we all need some help.
2. Peeta’s feelings towards Katniss is so pure and unconditional. I admire his perseverance and the fact that he is not insisting that she should choose him over Gale.
3. Some people may seem pathetic like Haymitch but don’t judge them. Who knows? Maybe there’s a reason behind their attitude. Give chances. People may surprise you.

📚 Favorite Lines 📚

🔖 “Having an eye for beauty isn’t the same thing as a weakness.”

🔖 “We are not just beautiful, we are dark and powerful. We star-crossed lovers from District 12, who suffered so much and enjoyed so little the rewards of our victory, do not seek the fans’ favor, grace them with our smiles, or catch their kisses. We are unforgiving. And I love it. Getting to be myself at last.”

🔖 “As coal pressured into pearls by our weighty existence. Beauty that arose out of pain.”

🔖 “The bird, the pin, the song, the berries, the watch, the cracker, the dress that burst into flames. I am the mockingjay. The one that survived despite the Capitol’s plans. The symbol of the rebellion.”

🔖 “I give up. Stop speaking, responding, refuse food and water. They can pump whatever they want into my arm, but it takes more than that to keep a person going once she’s lost the will to live.”

🌸 xoxo, Janna 🌸

Leave a Reply

