Janna’s Book Review #24 : Blood Bound (Bound #1) by K.Carter

PhotoGrid_1459904712718
“The right choice is never obvious and the wrong choice is always the easiest…”
Author: K.Carter
Pages: 226
Format: Paperback
Publication Date: February 2015
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Romance
Date Read: April 2, 2016
GoodReads Rating: 4.11
Personal Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟.5/5
🌸 S Y N O P S I S 🌸
At the start of his junior year, Rian Michaels is forced to move back to his home town in the wake of his close cousin’s death. While trying to piece his family back together, he also tries to comfort his cousin’s deeply grieving girlfriend, Emily. Instead of putting her grief at ease, he begins to feel something between them. In the mist of unforgivable lies, dark secrets and betrayals, Rian has to decide. What is truly thicker than blood?
🌸 M Y    T H O U G H T S 🌸
πŸ’Ÿ S E T T I N G πŸ’Ÿ
The story took place in a decent neighborhood where the characters grew up and met each other. It fits perfectly with a story. A small town where the people residing are contented with what they have by living a simple life. Rian knows how it feels like to live in New York where he enjoys a very comfortable life with his parents. But still, he chose to stay in a small town to live with his aunt who is recovering from a depressive state. It is a typical place where gossips easily spread and just like any other place, it contains people who are judgmental and self-absorbed.
πŸ’Ÿ C H A R A C T E R S πŸ’Ÿ
Rian Michaels is good-looking, popular at school and immune to girls who are constantly staring at him. He met Emily when they were kids, she is his best friend and childhood sweetheart. They grew up together with his closest cousin, Ian, and they all have the bestest (word!πŸ˜‚) friendship ever. Until Rian left and moved to New York.
Emily Grace is God-fearing, beautiful and well-mannered. She is adopted but her parents loved her genuinely. They treated her as their own flesh and blood. Ian was her boyfriend but Rian is the one who got away. I like her character, she is very lady-like and vulnerable. She loves deeply and sincerely but there are times when she is not brave enough to admit the truth and fight for what she really likes.
Ian on the other hand is the geek. The writer. The poet. The hopeless romantic who is head over heels with Emily ever since. He fought for what he truly feels despite knowing what Em really felt. He was brave enough to accept the fact that somebody else’s owns her heart. Ian is strong on the outside but the truth is, he is fragile and weak.
πŸ’Ÿ W R I T I N G Β  S T Y L E Β  A N D Β  P L O T πŸ’Ÿ
I like the author’s style, she had me from page one until the end. She writes somewhat like Colleen Hoover and I am not exaggerating this. I am honestly not into young adult, contemporary, romance and yet she caught my undivided attention. The ‘wow’ factor is present, definitely, and the excruciating hurtful events are there. The first few chapters already caught me off-guard with all the turn out of events. I was amazed that a book that is not too mainstream is as astonishing as this. The cover, look at the cover of this book! Yes! The saying may be true that we should not judge a book by its cover, but man! Come on! This book has a very gorgeous cover which made me more eager to read it ever since I get my hands on it. It is fast-paced and a fast-read, you can finish it in one sitting because I promise you that there are no dull moments in it. You will surely love it the same way that I did. The only thing that I noticed is that Emily’s narration is on the 3rd person point of view which is quite confusing considering the fact that Rian’s narration is on the first person POV. How I wish that the author could have just stickΒ to the first person narration all throughout the story. And I noticed that a particular word was used repetitively especially on the first few chapters. One more thing that I like about this is its profanity, Rian’s profanity to be exact, this kind of reminded me how Tarryn Fisher writes her novels. Kuddos to Miss Carter! This one is a great story with a lot of jaw-dropping and mind-blowing twists! I loved it!
πŸ’Ÿ O V E R A L L R A T I N G πŸ’Ÿ
For me, it is a 4.5. Yes, I will definitely recommend this book. I am so privileged to be able to receive a signed copy from the author in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. If you have been following my blog for quite some time now you might be aware that I don’t do bias reviews. I say what I want and what I think is right. So yeah, with all honesty, this book is very promising. You might notice that some details and scenarios are kind of clichΓ©’ but I am certain that Miss Carter gave them justice. With all the turn out of events, I can say that I am in deep awe right now, just WOW.😻
🌸 C O N C L U S I O N 🌸
First, I have learned that if you really love or like someone, you have to say it, it’s not always enough that you will just show it, the person has to hear it from you. It happened to the main characters, they forgot to mention what they really felt for each other so a lot of things already occurred and it was almost too late! Second, sometimes bad things happen in order for us to have a better perspective in life. Accidents sometimes become our eye-opener. Yes, it is sad and depressing, but once we’re over it and we’ve moved on, we’ll realize that better things may still occur because of that one tragic incident which may change our lives for the best. Lastly, no matter how screwed we think we are, our parents will always embrace and accept us.
Xoxo, Janna

received_792822334182493

 

Leave a Reply

