Janna’s Book Review #25 : The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

image

“IT ISN’T MY NATURE TO GO DOWN WITHOUT A FIGHT, EVEN WHEN THINGS SEEM INSURMOUNTABLE.…” -Katniss

💜 AUTHOR: Suzanne Collins 💜
💜 PAGES: 374 💜
💜 FORMAT: Paperback 💜
💜 PUBLICATION DATE: September 14, 2008 💜
💜 ISBN13: 9780439023481 💜
💜 GENRE: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia 💜
💜 SETTING: District 12 (Panem), The Arena 💜
💜 CHARACTERS: Katniss Everdeen, Peeta Mellark 💜
💜 DATE READ: March 19, 2016 💜
💜 GOODREADS RATING: 4.37 💜
💜 PERSONAL RATING: 4.5 (☆☆☆☆.5/5) 💜
💖 S Y N O P S I S 💖
The story is about Katniss Everdeen, a young girl from District 12 who volunteered to become their district’s tribute to the 74th Hunger Games. Each year, one male and one female will be chosen via draw lots to represent their respective sector and fight to the death in honor of the departed who sacrificed their lives for their freedom. Her partner is Peeta Mellark, a boy who has no experience when it comes to survival. He is the son of the town’s bread maker. Katniss is a hunter; at a very young age her father taught her all the strategies and techniques in order to survive hunting at the forest. And that became her edge among the other tributes.
Is Katniss strong enough to withstand all the obstacles and hardships inside the arena?
Is Peeta putting up a show for the audience or is he actually in love with Katniss?
How will they be able to make it alive if only one tribute will be crowned as the winner?
💖 M Y   T H O U G H T S 💖
💖 S E T T I N G 💖
District 12 is known for mining coal industry. It is not a wealthy sector of the government. Many people are poor and struggling really hard to live and survive. The place is well-described and wonderfully created in the book, which is what I liked most about dystopian themed books. When a place is oppressed, you can really feel the pain and suffering of the people.
The arena is the place where the annual Hunger Games take place.  It is a forest that contains plenty of crucial tests and unidentifiable threats. I liked it but I find it somewhat plain and odd, I expected a lot of mind-blowing adventures and creatures that will make the game more interesting. I thought monstrous beings will be present that will add some spice. Instead, tributes who are determined to kill each other are the only ones who are present.
💖 C H A R A C T E R S 💖
Katniss is now my favorite female antagonist next to Celaena Sardothien  (from Sarah J. Maas’ Throne of Glass series)! I am always amazed with a fictional character who knows how to use a bow and arrow (or crossbow). She is one hell of a kick ass female lead and in terms of her personality, I can easily relate with her. We both find it very hard to connect with people. Yes, we do care for some, but it is impossible to like and be nice to everyone we meet. Her determination and bravery is very admirable and remarkable!
Peeta on the other hand is a lame character! Ugh! He is obviously gorgeous and has the potential but I find his character so needy and incapable. He hasn’t helped Katniss that much except to lure the opponents and redirect them away from her path. He is kind of weak. If it’s not for Katniss’ existence, he could’ve died already right from the start. But there is this one thing that I admire most about him; he shows his feelings for Katniss instead of saying it. He is true gentleman.
💖 W R I T I N G    S T Y L E  A N D    P L O T 💖
The author’s writing style is fantastic! So so so FANTASTIC! I love how I managed to finish it in a few days. It’s a real page-turner! BUT! Honestly, I wasn’t that mind-blown but I like how it was written. Maybe I expected a lot of jaw-dropping scenes inside the arena. I never thought that it would be easy for Katniss and it seems that things turned out in her favor most of the time. Based on the title, I looked and craved for more! Yes, MORE! I expected a lot but I was kind of dismayed. Don’t get me wrong PLEASE, I adored it, every page and chapter of it actually but something went missing and the author failed to give me that satisfaction. The WOW factor! But I have no regrets; Katniss is now the apple of my eye! She’s fierce and feisty! Kudos to the author for creating a character who is unforgettable! For the plot twist, I don’t know, I’m having a mixed emotions right now. There wasn’t much that was offered. Maybe I need to read the next book to finally get hold of it. There were tons of action-packed scenes but a remarkable twist was not noted. Is it just me? Ugh.
💖 O V E R A L L   R A T I N G 💖
Despite all my rant the book still and will always deserve a 4.5 for me! I can’t give it a four or less because it’s dystopian! And I freakin’ love DYSTOPIAN! It is definitely my cup of tea. Really! Always have and always will! I don’t know why I’ve waited for a long time to finally get my hands on this masterpiece! What have I been thinking all along? Seriously? Anyway, I want to thank my sister-in-law @avy_reads for giving me the copy of The Hunger Games boxed set in foil edition as a birthday gift last year. Gosh! I so love my copy! So so so much! (☆☆☆☆.5/5)
💖 C O N C L U S I O N 💖
I think, no matter how unprepared or unarmed we are, we still and should always put up a fight. Just like what the character did in the story, she is not a PRO but she tried, she did it! I admire her determination and optimism. Her selfless love for her sister, Prim, is so heroic and a tear-jerker! She is a bona fide hero and deserves all the fame and wealth in the end.
xoxo,
Janna
One thought on “Janna’s Book Review #25 : The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

  1. Pingback: Book Review #31 : Catching Fire (The Hunger Games #2) by Suzanne Collins | Bibliophile Mom

Leave a Reply

