Janna’s Book Review #23 : Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

PhotoGrid_1457074681072

“I had a hundred and seventeen days in which to convince Will Traynor that he had a reason to live.” -Louisa Clark

Screenshot_2016-03-06-13-31-58-1
πŸ’œ AUTHOR: Jojo Moyes πŸ’œ
πŸ’œ PAGES: 369 πŸ’œ
πŸ’œ FORMAT: E-bookΒ πŸ’œ
πŸ’œ PUBLICATION DATE: December 31, 2012Β πŸ’œ
πŸ’œ ISBN13: 9780670026609 πŸ’œ
πŸ’œ GENRE: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary πŸ’œ
πŸ’œ SETTING: England πŸ’œ
πŸ’œ CHARACTERS: Will Traynor, Louisa Clark πŸ’œ
πŸ’œ DATE READ: March 5, 2016 πŸ’œ
πŸ’œ GOODREADS RATING: 4.30 πŸ’œ
πŸ’œ PERSONAL RATING: (3.5) β˜†β˜†β˜†.5/5 πŸ’œ
πŸ’– S Y N O P S I S πŸ’–
Two different people bound together to change each other’s perspective about love and life.
Will Traynor is a survivor of a motor accident that caused his paralysis. He lost hope and the desire to move forward and live. He knows how miserable and meaningless his life is and he is determined to end everything. Louisa Clark is well accustomed about aΒ  simple life. She enjoys her work at the tea shop and loves her boyfriend, Patrick, so dearly. She’ll do everything for the welfare of her family. What they don’t know is that they’ll change each other’s life forever.
Is Lou’s feelings enough to change Will’s decision?
Will they get along or end up hating each other?
Is love really enough to have a new beginning?
πŸ’– M YΒ  T H O U G H T S πŸ’–
Heartbreaking, tear-jerking and soul-crushing…
πŸ“š SETTING πŸ“š
For me, the setting is perfect for the character’s love story. A very simple yet unforgettable set up. Lou seemed to enjoy her life despite living in a small town and having a plain and odd work at the cafe. She is contented with her everyday routine and is very happy about it. The Traynor’s house is huge and elegant. The picture of wealth and influence. It is too big for three people who doesn’t seem to be talking to each other everyday. Most of the scenes took place at Will’s place where Lou attended all his needs. Sometimes they will go outside and explore the town just to lighten up Will’s mind. Lou’s place on the other hand is small and too crowded for all the members of their family but the happiness and love is always present. It’s not really what we have in life but who we have in it that matters.
πŸ“š CHARACTERS πŸ“š
Will Traynor is a quadriplegic who is depressed and devastated. He has all the money and means to enjoy life but the accident happened and everything changed. From the athletic, happy-go-lucky and free-spirited man, he turned into a hopeless and miserable one. I like how the author created Will’s character, he is a mixture of perfection and misery. A reminder that life is really a bitch and not everything turns out that way we planned it.
Lou Clark is simple, pretty and has a weird fashion style. She belongs to a loving family. Yes, there are struggles but they manage to survive it everyday. Before Will, Lou is afraid of risks and taking chances. She doesn’t have a social life. She is already contented with being contained in a small space and not even having the guts to try something new and explore. Will taught her to discover all her capabilities and reminded her to never settle in a place that will never make her grow as an individual.
πŸ“š WRITING STYLE AND PLOT πŸ“š
I like the way it was written but I am honestly not that impressed because I’m not a huge fan of sad stories. Yes, stories like this will make you reflect about life but it’s just too hard for me to handle. I cried a lot of times all throughout the story. I flinched at Will’s decision but who am I to judge him or anyone at the same situation? He went through a lot and seeing how depressing his case is just a lot to bear. They could have been a perfect pair, almost. But of course if it wasn’t for Will’s situation or sickness they may never be able to bump into each other. Will’s previous life is the perfect example of someone who lives his life to the fullest. Some parts of the book were really boring so it took me a couple of weeks to finally finish it. I’ve been alternating between e-book and audio book and it still took me a while to finally finish this story. If it wasn’t for the upcoming movie, I would never really read this because it’s not my cup of tea. I was surprised with its twist because I never expected that someone would come up and resort with that kind of decision with the support of his family. Other than that, everything is just plain, predictable and ordinary.
πŸ“š OVERALL RATING πŸ“š
It’s hard to rate a book that you did not enjoy that much. It is a very good story but it’s not my thing. A 3.5 for me. I am so sorry if you are an avid fan of this book. I am still surprised that I was able to finish it. It is so frustrating when everybody else enjoys a book and you don’t seem to know why you didn’t. Yes I liked it but I am not delighted. I felt miserable and in sorrow. It reminded me of Nicholas Sparks’ stories which are truly depressing. β˜†β˜†β˜†.5/5Β 
πŸ’–Β M Y Β C O N C L U S I O NΒ πŸ’–
There are so many life lessons in this book and that’s one of the reasons why I’m happy about it. Comfort zones are great. They are safe and familiar but we will never know our full potential if we will not take risks and step out of it. This story made me realize that I can do better. I can do more. That I should go out and explore and maximize my talents and strengths. The saying is true, LIFE BEGINS AT THE END OF YOUR COMFORT ZONE. And that’s what Will taught Lou. He may be gone forever but the things that he shared with her will always remain and remembered.
Xoxo,
J A N N A
Leave a Reply

