Janna’s Book Review #21 : Bad Romeo (Starcrossed #1) by Leisa Rayven

image

Pages: 417
Published: December 23, 2014
ASIN: B00L012GQ2
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Started: February 14, 2016
Finished: February 14, 2016

“Sometimes it’s not about trying to fix something that’s broken. Sometimes it’s about starting again and building something new. Something better.”

Passionate, sexy and intense.πŸ‘Œ

Ethan Holt is undeniably one hell of a male character!
This is my very first Leisa Rayven book read. I am satisfied because I listened to my friends who recommended this gripping story.Reading this brought back all the pain and misery that I felt when I read Tarryn Fisher’s The Opportunist. And yes, this is definitely one of my favorites for this year (so far). The roller coaster ride of the gorgeous pair is mind-boggling but whatever! I adored each and every chapter!😍

The author played with a lot of emotions here. I thought I will have a nervous breakdown because come on! How can she be that cruel? Just when I was about to fall head over heels and finally ship them, she accidentally pushed me off the cliff and watched me die. Ugh! But nevertheless, I freakin’ love this! My love for Travis Maddox (from Jamie McGuire’s Beautiful Disaster) and Caleb Drake (from Tarryn Fisher’s The Opportunist) is now overpowered by my feelings for Ethan Holt.πŸ™ˆπŸ™ŠπŸ˜†

Setting: β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†/5

New adult romance books doesn’t really give us an impressive setting because these scenarios tend to occur in our everyday lives unlike on Fantasy books where one can enjoy and appreciate the places a lot. So, I might as well give the setting a 4. It took place mostly at the acting university and at Cassie’s apartment located at New York (USA). Nothing extra special was noted so for me everything is just plain and simple (in a good way.).😊

Characters: β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†/5

Ethan Holt is a 21-year-old student actor. He is a certified head turner. Majority of the women usually throw themselves at him and he is already used to it. Most of the time he is a loner. Ethan has an excruciating past which makes him afraid of commitment and trusting seems so hard for him. I like the way Miss Rayven created him because she did not come up with a male hunk that is too good to be true but instead, this one is totally wrecked. His flaws perfectly matched his beautiful face and these made me appreciate and understand him more.😍

Cassandra Taylor is 19-year-old virgin actress who is totally obsessed of getting laid sooner. She is smart, beautiful and a real catch. She fantasized about Ethan and even made a fool out of herself in front of him a couple of times. Honestly, I don’t like her character in the story, she is so pathetic and desperate. The author accidentally made her look cheap and obsessed with sex and Holt. I don’t know, I wasn’t impressed. I felt sorry for her though. But overall, she complemented Ethan’s character so I still managed to appreciate her a bit.πŸ™Š

Writing Style and Plot: β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†/5

The author’s writing style is soooo brilliant! I liked it a lot! The fact that I’ve finished Bad Romeo in one day is really something! It’s like a chocolate, once you started to take a bite, you will never ever stop! And I only stopped when I was about to eat or pee.πŸ˜‚ I was astounded and amazed by how she caught my full attention. I have this terrible attitude when it comes to reading new adult romance books, I tend to be in a slump halfway reading them so I was really surprised when this story made an impact. It was written very well. She used simple but meaningful terms. The fact that it is about actors and actresses is quite new to me, I hate stories that are full of shit and clichΓ©’ but this one definitely nailed it! Giving a reader something to crave for is great! Ideally, I want a beautiful couple with a perfect relationship and she gave it to me, but she also made me see the reasons why Ethan and Cassie should not be together. There were moments in the book where I personally gave up on them and thought that they are better off without each other and I was kind of right. Kuddos to the author for bringing a wonderful story that will always be remembered because of its effect on the readers.πŸ’•

The plot and twist are actually plain and simple; a man who wants to love so badly but is afraid of trusting and a woman who is desperate for a true relationship and is willing to risk it all. And that simplicity is the very reason why I can’t get enough of it. Stories should not always be complicated, sometimes you just have to give the readers whatever the clichΓ©’ they need.☺

Overall Rating: β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†/5

A perfect score for a job well done! I will always recommend this book to my fellow readers and bookstagrammers who are into New Adult Contemporary books because I am very sure that they will not be disappointed. And the fact that Ethan Holt is one hot man who is swoon and drool worthy? Man! That is obviously something to fan girlΒ over with.πŸ™ˆπŸ™Š

I therefore came into a conclusion that a relationship doesn’t need to consist of two perfect individual, instead, it should be made of two imperfect persons who are willing to accept and embrace all the flaws and fight for it.❀

Leave a Reply

