Janna’s Book Review #20 : To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

image

“It wouldn’t kill you to get out of your comfort zone a little bit…”

Pages: 288
Published: April 15, 2014
Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Started: February 13, 2016
Finished: February 13, 2016
Personal Rating: ☆☆☆☆/5

Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is obviously cute, sweet and so High School. I love how she amazingly created both Lara Jean Covey and Peter Kavinsky’s characters. It’s like a personal time travel way back to my very own teenage days where I fell in love and got my heart broken for the very first time. (Ugh! I need to stop sounding weird here!)🙈

Whenever I’m in a reading slump, I always search for books that looks interesting and surprising so when I came across this book, I instantly picked it up because I heard and read a lot of positive and commendable reviews about it especially from young readers around the world. I am so pleased because I was not disappointed at all. Swooning and fangirling over manly and hot male characters is great but reminiscing about the cute ones just like Peter, Josh and John is so refreshing plus it makes me feel young again.🙊(It’s not a bad thing right?😆)

Can someone like Lara Jean who has no experience when it comes to relationship handle the pressure of dating someone as famous and head turner like Peter Kavinsky?😍

Is Peter K ready to fall in love again and totally forget about his past relationship?🙊

But, what if they are just together because they are putting up some kind of a show?🙈

Who will eventually get hurt in the end? Is it the goody-good-girl or the player?😩

Setting: ☆☆☆☆/5

It was set mostly at their respective neighborhood and school. Everything is just simple. Nothing remarkable on the setting was noted. But, I still managed to enjoy and savor every chapter of this book! I appreciated it because it is light and very easy to understand. I did not get bored. I found myself turning the pages consistently and listening to the audio book attentively.(Okay, I’ve been alternating between audio book and e-book.😂) This is kind of new to me because I rarely read a young adult contemporary story but thank goodness I did. Everything was perfect because situations like these are real. They happen everyday and they happen to a lot of people.❤

Characters: ☆☆☆☆☆/5

Lara Jean is a 16-year-old NBSB who comes from a decent family. She has 2 sisters, a deceased mother and an OB-GYNE father. She is smart, family oriented and a hopeless romantic. She is stubborn yet scared (most of the time). She knows nothing about first love, holding hands and dates. But she is a real catch because she is sweet, pretty and funny.

Peter Kavinsky on the other hand is the boy next door. The heartthrob. The Lacrosse player slash Mr. Popular. He is very famous among girls but one thing they don’t know about him is that, he loves and cares deeply and sincerely. Peter K is handsome and loyal but sometimes he can also be a douche bag.😂

I don’t want to get into details regarding the antagonists here in the story because I never really cared about them. I was not bothered by their existence in the story because Lara and Peter is a very stunning pair.💕

Writing Style and Plot: ☆☆☆☆/5

Oh my Goodness!😱 Don’t you dare ask me that much because for heaven’s sake, I freakin’ like this one! Han caught my full attention through out the story! I never really put down my e-reader that much (as in literally). Stories like this make me lose track of time. One minute  I’ve just started the audio book and then the next minute, I am already done with it! I like how I honestly giggled on some scenes! And those butterflies in the stomach? They are real!🙈🙊 It’s a very nice feeling when I still get the chance to swoon over a teenage kid. Lol😂

The story is not unique yet it really got into my head. It is definitely a cliche’, a girl and boy who pretends to be together just to make somebody else jealous. Damn! We see this kind of plot like everywhere even in soap operas and yet I can’t seem to make a negative comment about this.😜 I love how fast paced it was. You can finish it in a day or two. The twists are also light and cool. Miss Han will play with your emotions a bit, she will make you hate the characters for a while but then she will suddenly make them do random acts where the reader will love and embrace them again. Once in a while, it is so nice to read something cheesy like this. No regrets.

Overall Rating: ☆☆☆☆/5

I somehow accidentally chose to read it 2 days before Valentine’s day and if that makes me lousy then so be it. 😂

Lastly, I don’t think that we really ever forget our first love, all the feelings and emotions will all be gone in the future but the person will always be a part us, always have and always will be.❤

Leave a Reply

