Janna’s Book Review #19 : Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

image

“The problem with wanting is that it makes us weak…”

Pages: 358
Published: June 5, 2012
ISBN: 0805094598
Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
Started: February 1, 2016
Finished: February 12, 2016
Personal Rating: β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†/5

If you happen to be following my blog or my Instagram account for quite some time now, I assume that you are already aware of my interest in fantasy and dystopian themed stories. Before I started reading this, I noticed that a lot of bookstagrammers, book reviewers and bloggers are so ecstatic about the Grisha Trilogy and everybody seems to be praising and mentioning the author for a job well done so I became so curious.πŸ™ˆ By the way, I should thank my very good friend, Krish of @krish.reads at Instagram, for giving me her copy of Shadow and Bone.πŸ˜™πŸ˜πŸ˜—

It is a good and decent book with a nice ending. I liked it a lot but not that much. IΒ  enjoyed it from chapter 13 onwards but honestly, I am not that impressed and surprised. Something went missing. I don’t know exactly what that is so maybe it’s just me.lolπŸ˜‚ Seriously, the element of “Surprise” (or WOW factor) was not present.😒

Setting:

I am  pleased with the setting. All of them are well-described and it was not difficult for me to envision all the places in it. The Black Fold seemed to be a very dangerous and creepy place where nobody (even the strongest and bravest) dared to cross. The Palace on the other hand is grand and majestic as what every royal place should be. Everything was perfect and I appreciated even the smallest details of a particular location. 5/5.😊

Characters:

Alina Starkov– Alina is a very powerful Grisha but she acts helpless and stupid! Frankly,Β  I freaking hate pathetic characters like her. Sorry if you are a huge fan of this series but I was so annoyed with her slow progress and improper use of ability. She could have done a lot of things to be strong and full of power, instead, all I felt for her was irritation and pity.😀

The Darkling– oh yes!❀ Smart, handsome and manipulative antagonists are my kind of men! Seriously, I was astounded by the Darkling’s beauty and power. The first few chapters were just bearable for me because of him. I really thought that this story is about him and Alina.😒 Eversince I read about him, I already shipped for their story instead of Mal. Will you curse me if I say that it would be much better if it was the Darkling instead of him? Ok. Maybe not.πŸ˜‚

Malyen ‘Mal’ Oretsev– It is a clichΓ©’ that behind every strong female protagonist is a best friend who is secretly fantasizing and loving her! But the good thing about this story is that the feeling was reciprocated. Lucky Mal! I have nothing against him but I just find his existence plain, odd and boring. And now, I must face the 2nd book with him and Alina being the perfect match. Ugh! Kill me now.πŸ˜‚Β 4/5.

Writing Style and Plot:

The first 12 chapters are slow-paced and dull. They are too descriptive and full of reminiscing-the-past stuffs. The only person that has kept me going as I’ve said earlier is the Darkling’s mysterious personality. This is my first Leigh Bardugo novel and I am okay with her writing style although I’ve had a hard time with some terms because I am not accustomed with them. I liked the way she wrote from chapters 13 until the end because all the action-packed scenes and revelations were there. I finished those chapters in 4 hours so I think Miss Bardugo really caught my full attention. I am so in love with twists and turns, breathtaking action scenes and swoon-worthy moments and I found all of them in this book! I just hope that there will be progress on books 2 and 3 because I have a huge fascination over Β mind-fucking turn out of events and unfortunately this book has only “ONE”. 😭 yes! Only one jaw-droppingΒ twist!πŸ’”Β  4/5.

Overall Rating:

β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†/5. I am recommending this to readers who are head-over-heels with bad boys and villains.πŸ™ˆ If you want a fast-read, pick this one because you’ll never be disappointed but please don’t set your standards to the highest level okay? Just enjoy the book and fan girlΒ over the characters.❀

One thought on “Janna’s Book Review #19 : Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

