Janna’s Book Review #18 : Maybe Not by Colleen Hoover

“She’s the best worst thing that’s ever happened to me….”❤

💟Pages: 130
💟Published: November 24, 2014
💟Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
💟Date Started: January 25, 2016
💟Date Finished: January 26, 2016
💟Personal Rating: ☆☆☆/5

Reading this novella is like reading the Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy by EL James and Crossfire Series by Sylvia Day all over again in a simpler manner. It is sexy, kinky and full of fun but at the same time the romance was still preserved. I love how Colleen Hoover managed to give me butterflies in the stomach while swooning madly and deeply over Warren and Bridgette’s funny and cute story.😍

If you’ve already finished reading Maybe Someday by Hoover, I am pretty sure that you’ve noticed the bubbly, free-spirited and boy-next-door type of guy named Warren who fell head-over-heels with his mean and sarcastic roommate Brigette. This is the typical when-the-asshole-meet-the-bitch kind of story. I laughed out loud most of the time because of Warren’s happy-go-lucky characteristic and I also rolled my eyes a couple of times due to Brigette’s very rude behavior.😉

Are they the perfect match?
Can Brigette really change after all?
Is Warren brave enough to accept Brigette’s flaws?

📚Setting📚

It was set at Ridge’s (the main character of Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover) apartment where Bridgette and Warren instantly became roommates. It is a very simple and common set up so I will just give it a 3. Since it is just a novella, everything took place at their respective bedrooms. 😂

📚Characters📚

They are easy to relate with and to understand. You can never ever go wrong with CoHo’s characters because they always seemed to get in to your head. Warren is so lovable and sweet. Despite being treated like a trash, he still fought for his feelings towards Brigette. And I really do think that Brigette’s behavior is just a defense mechanism because she has always been alone in her life until Warren came along. Since it is a short story, I haven’t had the chance to dig deeper into their perspectives.😵

📚Writing Style📚

I finished it in 2 days. I know! I know! It’s just a novella and yet it took me two days to finish it.🙈🙊😛 Her writing style is always appealing. Her books are just too good to put down and you just have to finish them right away. She always see to it that her writing will have an impact on her readers. And she has mastered that ever since.👌

📚Plot📚

The only twist that I noticed is Brigette’s real relationship with Ridge and Brennan (their flatmates) which is actually not the main idea of the story. As a matter of fact I did not notice anything that will caught a reader off guard or something that will make your jaw drop. As I have mentioned earlier, short stories like this  is just a detailed description of a certain book’s other characters aside from the male and female protagonists. 2/5.😯

📚Overall Rating📚

For making me smile and laugh…
For making me feel young again…
For realizing that sometimes all you need is one person who will make you realize that not all men are the same.❤

3/5 😊

Leave a Reply

