Janna’s Book Review #16 : Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

image
πŸ’Ÿ Pages: 385
πŸ’Ÿ Published: March 18, 2014
πŸ’Ÿ Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
πŸ’Ÿ Started: January 11, 2016
πŸ’Ÿ Finished: January 13, 2016

“We have to have bad days in order to keep the good ones in perspective…”

How can one author excruciatingly break your heart and eventually help you put up the broken pieces back together? Yes, that’s what Colleen Hoover is capable of and very good at. She will let you fall madly and deeply in love with her characters then she will suddenly rip you off. I was a mess at some chapter but I managed to get up, mend my heart and fall in love again. I Love You, Colleen, I really do.
The story will definitely make it to my Top 10 for 2016. There is always something about this author that will make you think and go crazy. I laughed and cried at the same time. I swooned and drooled over the characters. This is a very magnificent book! It will make you realize that waiting will always be worth it. Sometimes we just have to sacrifice someone for a while in order for us to realize their value. Choosing is always a bitch especially if both choices are too good to be true. All the love lessons in this novel made me reflect about a lot of things in my life. Truly, a person will come and walk into our lives and they will make us realize why all our past relationships did not work out.
πŸ“š Setting πŸ“š
It was set in an apartment with a decent neighborhood. A very simple set up for a very luxurious love story, but, I did not mind it at all. No matter where it is, a Colleen Hoover book will always soar high even without a very romantic or popular place. That’s the thing about her books, the setting doesn’t even matter, the story itself is enough to make it shine. I am giving the setting a 4 out of 5.
πŸ“š Characters πŸ“š
Ridge Lawson is a 24-year-old musician. He writes song that comes from the heart but the only problem is that he is currently in a writer’s block. Despite having a long-term girlfriend, Maggie, he seems to be having a hard time creating songs for their band (Sounds of Cedar). He is handsome, loyal and smart. He protects and loves wholeheartedly. He and Maggie has the perfect kind of relationship, almost.
Sydney Blake is a 22-year-old brokenhearted woman. She tries her very best to move on from her cheating boyfriend (Hunter) and her backstabbing best friend (Tori). She is surprisingly and unexpectedly a great writer and composer but she is not fully aware of it until Ridge came along. She is beautiful and independent. Will she become another cheater and backstabbing peopleΒ like Tori and Hunter or Will she use her head and do the right thing? Sometimes we just have to sacrifice, a lot.
I’ll give both of them a 5 out of 5 since I did not find myself being annoyed with their characters. There is a personal connection between me, Ridge and Sydney. It was not difficult for me to dig deeper into their perspectives. Ridge may have his flaws and slips but it still shows how deeply in love and loyal he is with Maggie. I also noticed his willingness and devotion to protect her. Sydney on the other hand is a woman who thinks first instead of making herself too available. She is obsessed with the idea of respecting other people’s relationship and not getting in the way. Ridge and Sydney is the perfect match, almost.
πŸ“š Writing Style πŸ“š
I was able to finish the book in almost 3 days which I think is worthy of a 5. Yes, it is definitely a 5 out of 5 for the writing style. If you have read or came across my previous book review of CoHo’s books then I suppose that you are aware that the genius is undeniably my favorite new adult/romance/contemporary writer.
The style is just so unique and realistic. She always manages to give her readers a new reason to fan girl and swoon! Every single book deserves all the hype. I know I always say these stuffs when it comes to her but I just think that her books are worth every penny. I can never think of a single thing that I hate about this book. None.
πŸ“š Plot πŸ“š
I was astounded when I discovered all the twists and turns in this novel. I was caught off guard (I swear!). I love the fact that I was surprised with the turn out of events every other chapter. All of them are different (in a very good way), well crafted and every detail is realistic. I didn’t know that a reader can be greatly affected by a writer’s plot twist like what I am feeling every time I read a Hoover creation. I got depressed and truly devastated with all the revelations and secrets that are unraveled. I thought I won’t be able to finish this masterpiece because the emotions that I felt while reading are too hard for me to handle. I was there when Ridge and Sydney started to fall in love deeply. I was also there when they crushed and fell apart. I was there because Colleen made sure that I will feel every significant moment in it. Surely, I am giving this a 5. A freaking 5 out of 5!
πŸ“š Overall Rating πŸ“š
No doubt! My overall rating is 5.
This is one of the books that make a difference.
β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†/5 for Perfection.
Leave a Reply

