Janna’s Book Review #14 : Fuck Love by Tarryn Fisher

image

Pages: 257
Published: December 30, 2015
ISBN: B01A1NU9BU
Genre: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Started: January 03, 2016
Finished: January 04, 2016
Personal Rating: β˜†β˜†β˜†/5

Tarryn Fisher’s latest book somehow made me think about my personal realizations about life instead of reflecting on Kit and Helena’s topsy-turvy story. The author once again brought me to a situation where I cried, laughed and fell inlove. I had my heart broken a couple of times but Tarryn always seemed to pick up my shattered pieces and put them back together in the end.

Kit Isley is a bonafide artist and he enjoys observing and reading people. He is in the so-called process of soul-searching and moving-on. Helena Conway on the other hand is a woman who needs constant redirecting to what her heart truly desires. She is free-spirited, selfless and witty. Unfortunately, Helena is with Neil and Kit is with Della, and Della is Helena’s bestfriend.

Is it really possible to fall inlove with someone just because of one particular dream? Helena needs to sort things out, find herself and fight for what matters most.

πŸ“š SETTING πŸ“š

The story was set at Florida and Washington.

The first half, mostly, was at Florida where Helena and Della grew up and became best of friends (the chick-over-dick kind of bond). This is also where Kit and Helena first met and where all the i-am-pretending-not-to-like-you stuffs happened.

The second part was at Washington where Helena did all her finding-my-ownself and moving on from the i-stole-my-bestfriend’s-boyfriend thing. This setting is one of the best that I have encountered so far (Next to Stephanie Perkin’s Paris setting). Every place became significant to the characters and you can clearly imagine what and how the places look like (The Belle, The Bar, etc.) So I actually stalked Tarryn Fisher’s Instagram account to find out all of these.πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆπŸ™Š

πŸ’Ÿ Florida: β˜†β˜†β˜†/5
πŸ’Ÿ Washington: β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†/5

πŸ“š CHARACTERS πŸ“š

Kit: β˜†β˜†β˜†/5 for playing it safe and not willing to risk everything .😀

Helena: β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†/5 for being a selfless friend who is willing to sacrifice a lot for things to be uncomplicated.

Della: β˜†β˜†β˜†/5 for being a narcissistic and self-centered bitch.😩

Neil: β˜†β˜†β˜†/5 for merely existing.πŸ˜‚ The boyfriend who impregnated another woman while in a relationship.😈

Greer: β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†/5 because despite of being Kit’s ex-fiancee, she still managed to be a real friend to Helena and convinced her to fight for their love.❀

πŸ“š PLOT πŸ“š

Honestly, the plot in the story is very common so I was disappointed. It is something that you can predict instantly. Boy-Girl-Bestriend love triangle is just too mainstream nowadays but I still managed to enjoy the book. Scenarios like this one really do happen in our everyday lives but the way the characters responded on certain situations is just so different yet realistic. Example, the letting go and moving on part of Helena where instead of trying to run away from Kit’s memories, she chose to live and settle on the place where Kit grew up. And For me, that is a very brave and unique act.β˜†β˜†β˜†/5

πŸ“š WRITING STYLE πŸ“š

Tarryn never ceases to amaze me! Her writing style has always been realistic and genuine. She create stories that touches a reader’s heart and soul. Yes, I cried a couple of times while reading the story. I loved it. I adored it. And I embraced every chapter of it.Β  She has that Colleen-Hoover-Effect on me. She will always surprise you and make you suffer while mending your broken heart at the same time.πŸ˜†Β β˜†β˜†β˜†β˜†/5

πŸ“š OVERALL RATING πŸ“š

I gave this one a 3 because I expected a lot and ended up asking for more. I was impressed with all the life lessons that Tarryn taught me. Every chapter meant something. It is very evident on my e-reader that I enjoyed it so much because of the number of notes that I have taken down, but still, I craved for more. Maybe because her first book, The Opportunist, was the best book of Fisher that I have read. Still, nobody can ever replace Caleb Drake and Olivia Kaspen’s spot in my heart. The Love Me with Lies series already set the highest standard for me when it comes to realistic endings and new adult romantic books.Β β˜†β˜†β˜†/5

Leave a Reply

