Janna’s Book Review #11 : Prodigy by Marie Lu

Β Β 
Prodigy (Legend #2)Β By Marie Lu
371 Pages
ISBN13: 9780399256769
Year Published: 2013
Date Read: November 7, 2015
Stunning and Mind-Blowing!πŸŽ‰πŸ™ŒπŸΌ
Marie Lu is undeniably the queen of Dystopian Literature! This is the second installment of her famous Legend Series. It deserves all the hype and the overflowing praises from readers around the globe. I finished the book in 3 days (Previous month’s reading slump not included!πŸ˜‚) and the ending shattered my heart into pieces. This Trilogy is my favorite series so far. I love how the author brought two swoon-worthy characters. It is full of emotions and action-packed scenes (that made my heart skip a beat!). Marie Lu never ceases to amaze me! Her writing style is just so perfect and I am forever under her freakin’ spell!πŸ‘ŒπŸΌ
The strory is about Daniel “Day” Altan Wing and June Iparis, two fugitives with different background. Day is famous because he is the Republic’s-Most-Notorious-Criminal while June on the other hand is the Republic’s-Most-Promising-Prodigy (quite the perfect combination huh?) πŸ’ͺπŸΌπŸ‘ŠπŸΌ
“How can something so wrong feel so right?” Cliche’ as it may sound but they fell in love at the wrong place and at the wrong time, given that there’s an ongoing war between the Republic, Patriots and the Colonies. They both sacrificed a lot for each other. But is it worth it? Is love enough for a person to turn her back on the government that she adores so much and serves all her life?😲
Every chapter made me cringe!😱 Marie Lu left me breathless with all those war scenes. I had goosebumps on the part where Day is at the Denver Tower showing support for the Elector, Anden, because the common people are planning to start a revolution against the government. It is epic! I almost cried because of the fact that the poor and oppressed sector of the government found hope on Day’s mere existence. He is truly an inspiration to the hopeless citizens. The love triangle between Day-June-Anden is my favorite part, choosing between the refined and smart person or the intelligent but less priviledged one is a real struggle for June.😭
Setting: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
My imagination once again played well. Fantasizing and thinking about the scenes in the book is just so pleasurable and overwhelming! Because the places are well described, it is so easy for me to jump from one place to another. The perfect dystopian set up! I adore you, Marie Lu! 😍
Characters:⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
Day is a certified knight in shining armor. Given the looks and the capabilities, he’s a real catch. Just ignore the artificial lower limb thoughπŸ™Š (and the rank in the society!😁).
June is one hell of a brave woman! If you have been following my blog since day one, I’m sure that you are already aware that I have this intense fascination over those badass female protagonists!
Anden, the Elector, is the typical classy boy who is well mannered, intelligent and every girl on the republic will surely throw themselves at him.
Tess, the bestfriend-turned-stranger-Tess. I did hoped that she just kept her feelings to herself! Nobody dares get in between my favorite Love birds, get it? Nobody!πŸ˜‚
Every character is significant. All of them affected me in different ways. I couldn’t ask for a better set of characters! They are creatively made.❀️
Plot: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
Perfect, because honestly I did not expect Razor’s betrayal to be that ill (okay, I’m avoiding to spoil everything here!πŸ˜‚πŸ™ˆ) I was surprised with the series of events that took place. I did not see those twists and turns coming! Especially the sad turn over at the end of the story. It is so depressing and heartbreaking πŸ’”
Writing Style: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
What more can I say?πŸ™„ Marie Lu nailed it!πŸ’ͺ🏼 Dystopian Literature is her cup of tea. She is an expert and I love every page of her book!❀️
Over All Rating:
A freakin’ ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5! Shut up people and just read it! It is full of awesomeness, greatness and creativity! πŸ‘ŒπŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ’ͺ🏼
Β©bibliophile.mom
One thought on “Janna’s Book Review #11 : Prodigy by Marie Lu

Leave a Reply

