Janna’s Book Review #10 : The Whispers of the Fallen by JD Netto

image

The Whispers of the Fallen
By J.D. Netto
Pages: 316
ISBN 13: 9780578112855
Year Published: 2012
Read: November 02, 2015
Genre: Fantasy, Mystery

Action-Packed and Gripping!πŸ‘ŒπŸΌπŸ’ͺπŸΌπŸ™ˆ

JD Netto’s first book on the The Whispers of the Fallen series did not disappoint me.πŸ’•

If you are expecting for a laid-back reading experience, well, sorry to disappoint you because you are wrong! This one has a lot of full-blown action-packed scenes and new revelations were always revealed so I suggest that you have to keep going and finish it right away!πŸ˜‚ I enjoyed how my creative imagination played well while reading and it was perfect for this kind of genre which is Fantasy.πŸ“– It is fast-paced and a fast-read, a perfect combination!πŸ‘πŸΌ It is not too descriptive so boredom did not really struck me, instead, every scene was perfectly made and mind-blowing!😎 I only have one rant, I was too overwhelmed and became a bit confused because a lot of characters were introduced all througout the story.πŸ˜‰πŸ€”

This is about Isaac and Demetre, childhood bestfriends who woke up one night only to find out that both their parents were gone without any trace if they were already dead or if somebody just took them. In an instant, their lives have changed. They’ve encountered a lot of creatures like nephilins, shadows, underwarriors, lessers, blood-drinkers Etc. while on their journey towards finding the truth and their connection to Lucifer and his lost diary. At first, everything was surreal, I’ve had a hard time catching up with the series of events that took place but after a few chapters I found myself craving and asking for more. The author became very creative with his characters and their special abilities and powers. I was totally devastated when I discovered that Isaac and Demetre somehow died in the story. I hate the female antagonist’s (Nephele) first person narration on the last part of the book, because why not? Who would like to read about that bitch’s thoughts anyway?πŸ™„πŸ˜‚ But seriously things became vivid after I’ve discovered her side of the story.πŸ™Š

Setting
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
The story took place at different locations because Isaac and Demetre were on a trip towards finding out the secrets of their parents. I rated them 4 out of five because every place was significant to the story.

Characters
⭐️⭐️⭐️.5/5
Don’t get me wrong, I love each and everyone of them especially Isaac and Devin (the nephilin who guided the main characters on their journey towards unravelling the truth) but as I’ve mentioned earlier, having too many characters in between the story quite confused me and frankly, I find Demetre so helpless and uselessπŸ˜‚ Nephele’s character is my favorite, she is a total-bad-ass-antagonist and I love strong-and-bitchy-female-characters like her!πŸ™Š

Plot
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
A freakin’ perfect score for the plot!!! Every chapter has a secret waiting to be revealed. And every secret that was exposed surprised me and brought me mini heart attacks (ofcourse I was kidding!πŸ˜‚). Those twists and turns left me breathless and in a total shock!😳😱

Writing Style
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
I salute the author for making the story not too descriptive. There was no dull moment and it was very interisting considering the fact that it involves our Creator and Lucifer. It did not focus on a specific religion but rather it was about the battle of good and evil.❀️

Over all rating
⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5
I appreciated the story so much! It was the perfect halloween story for you to read. I’ve finished it for 2 consecutive days and it made my reading slump disappear!πŸŽ‰Fantasy books never ceases to amaze me.πŸ‘πŸΌ I will soon read the next book on this series because that ending is definitely a cliffhanger! And I need to find out what the heck happened to Devin!πŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ

Leave a Reply

