Janna’s Book Review #8 : The Wrath and the Dawn

image

THE WRATH AND THE DAWN by Renee Ahdieh

404 pages

Published : May 12, 2015

ISNB13 : 9780399171611

“To have it half way is much harder than not having it at all…”

How could you do this “Renee Ahdieh”?
Just when I thought things are getting better, you made that f*cking next page a “GLOSSARY”! How mean! (laughs out loud!) I hate the way it ended but it made me more eager and hungry for the sequel (which will be released next year). It is a major cliff-hanger and I am so disappointed and frustrated right now.

“Retellings” are my favorite kind of story. It makes me reminisce, especially if it’s about a famous childhood fairy tale. Sometimes these novels are much better than the original concept but most of the time, they are also a major disappointment. It is a promising story the moment I opened the first page ’til the last few chapters but the last page is so damn annoying, I swear. It took me almost 2 weeks to finish this book not because of boredom but because I have a lot of things to do and I don’t have time to read lately.

I appreciate the story so much. It is a retelling of “A Thousand and One Nights” (Arabian Nights). It may be cliche’ to fall inlove with the enemy but this one is just so captivating and you wouldn’t mind it at all. A female bound for revenge fell for the murderer-slash-monster who has a dark and miserable past, only to find out that the so-called male antagonist is not the evil one after all.

Writing Style. I don’t like the third person narration eversince I started to become a chain-reader. I easily get bored when reading books on this point-of-view (only a few are exempted though). It is kind of irritating when you are having a hard time feeling empathetic over the characters unlike on th 1st person narration. I am already halfway done with the book when I finally felt the emotions of the characters. ⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

Setting. The story takes place at Caliph Khalid’s palace where all his previous wives were executed every dawn and Shazi is the only exception. It is the typical picture of a kingdom that symbolizes wealth and power. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

Characters. The main characters are both easy to love. Even before, I am already obsessed with badass female characters so I adore Shazi so much. She has it all : Beauty, brains and a “sharp mouth”. You will find yourself being under her spell while reading this book. She is outspoken, opinionated and determined. The perfect characteristic of a calipha (queen). Khalid on the otherhand is the brave and smart caliph (king). He sacrifices a lot for his people and he suffers alone just to keep them safe. Nobody truly understands him except for those people inside the palace. He is known as the murderous-boy-king and every person on his land is furious at him (if they only knew the real reason). ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

Plot. I am not surprised with the twist, honestly, I saw it coming but I still enjoyed this book so much and there is no doubt about it. It is very predictable. I do not know about the other readers but for me the twist is not jaw-dropping and mind-blowing at all. ⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

Overall. I gave this book a four-star-rating for making me swoon over Khalid and Shazi. I  am shipping them since page one and I am not disappointed with their love story. Although, like what I mentioned earlier, the author left me hanging. I hate stories that ends this way. She could atleast be less cruel. You should all read it and find out for yourselves. Despite all my rant, I highly recommend this book. I had fun reading this story and yes, I will recommend it over and over again even though I almost fainted on that merciless ending. (lol) ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

One thought on “Janna’s Book Review #8 : The Wrath and the Dawn

  1. Pingback: Book Review #32 : The Rose and the Dagger (The Wrath and the Dawn #2) by Renee Ahdieh | Bibliophile Mom

Leave a Reply

